An obscure offside rule on a Cale Makar goal for the Avalanche confused NHL fans

An obscure offside rule on a Cale Makar goal for the Avalanche confused NHL fans

USA News

Does anyone really know what offside is anymore in the NHL?

The Western Conference Final between the Colorado Avalanche and Edmonton Oilers began on Tuesday and the first period was everything we were hoping for. Goals aplenty! Back and forth action! A controversial call to end the period! Wait what?

With time winding down in the first period with the Oilers and Avalanche tied 2-2 — mere seconds after Edmonton tied the game — Cale Makar came storming back to regain the lead for Colorado. While it was an incredible momentum shift, and a beautiful goal as well, the tiebreaker was then challenged by the Oilers for potentially being offside.

Here’s how the play went down.

Wait, the goal wasn’t called offside?

Yes, an obscure ruling in the NHL’s rulebooks is the reason why Valeri Nichushkin isn’t offside on this play by Makar. The Avalanche defenseman pushes the puck across the blue line, but doesn’t touch it until after Nichushkin has gotten back onside, making the play a very quick tag up scenario and allowing the goal to stand.

Talk about a weird one. NHL fans, on the other hand, were quite confused and astounded at why that call stood.

Read More